Public Sector Banks of India and their Chairmen Names

Public Sector Banks of India and their Chairmen Names

Public Sector Banks or Nationalised Banks of India are the banks whose more than 50% stake is with Government. There are 21 Nationalised Banks in India. These banks shares are listed to Stock Exchange. Allahabad Bank is the oldest Public Sector Bank of India. Allahabad Bank was established in 1865 by the group of Indian people at Allahabad.

The first major changing in Indian banking system was in 1955 when the Indian government nationalises the Imperial Bank of India. It’s now known as State Bank of India. The second big changing has been done on 19 July 1969 by Indira Gandhi government by nationalising of 14 major banks.

Government of India nationalised Imperial Bank of India in 1955 and renamed as State Bank of India.

Scams Frauds in Government Sector Banks

Government banks are facing an acute loss due to increasing of Non-Performing Assets(NPA), scams and frauds. Punjab National Bank is in 14000 Crore of a big scam by allegedly Nirav Modi and his associates.

In the total of 21 public sector banks, only two banks – Vijaya Bank and Indian Bank, posted a profit in the year of 2017-18. Remaining 19 government banks posted a loss of 87,357 Crore. The biggest loss reported by Punjab National Bank (PNB). Its net loss was 12.282 Crore. IDBI Bank followed on the second position on total loss by 8,237 Crore.

In the total of 21 public sector banks, only two banks – Vijaya Bank and Indian Bank, posted a profit.


CEO / CMD / Head/Chairman

Vijaya Bank G Narayanan (Non-Executive Chairman)R.A. Sankara Narayanan (MD & CEO)
United Bank of India Pawan Kumar Bajaj (MD & CEO)
Union Bank of India Rajkiran Rai G (MD & CEO)
UCO Bank Ravi Krishan Takkar (MD & CEO)
Syndicate Bank Melwyn O. Rego (MD & CEO)
State Banks of India Rajnish Kumar (Chairman)
Punjab National Bank Sunil Mehta (MD & CEO) Sunil Mehta (Non-Executive Chairman)

“Rajnish Kumar joined State Bank of India as a Probationary officer in 1980”

Punjab And Sind Bank S.Charan Singh (Non-Executive Chairman)
Oriental Bank of Commerce Mukesh Kumar Jain (MD & CEO)
Indian Overseas Bank T C A Ranganathan (Non-Executive Chairman)R. Subramaniakumar (MD & CEO)
Indian Bank T C Venkat Subramanian (Non-Executive Chairman)Kishore Piraji Kharat (MD & CEO)
IDBI Bank Ltd B Sriram (MD & CEO)
Dena Bank Ashwani Kumar (CMD)
Corporation Bank Jai Kumar Garg (MD & CEO)


“Vir Singh, Sunder Singh Majitha, and Sardar Tarlochan Singh founded Punjab & Sind Bank in 1908”

Central Bank of India Rajeev Rishi (CMD)
Canara Bank T N Manoharan (Chairman)Rakesh Sharma (MD & CEO)
Bank of Maharashtra Ravindra Prabhakar Marathe (MD & CEO)
Bank of India G. Padmanabhan (Non-Executive Chairman)Dinabandhu Mohapatra (MD & CEO)
Bank of Baroda Ravi Venkatesan (Non-Executive Chairman)P. S. Jayakumar (MD & CEO)
Andhra Bank Shri A K Rath(ED) Shri Kul Bhushan Jain(ED)
Allahabad Bank Usha Ananthasubramanian (MD & CEO)

Click here to read about the functions of Reserve Bank of India:-

Click here to read about Types and Functions of Commercial Banks of India:-

Click here for latest Government Jobs:-

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply